This year, the jury of the Supervisor of the Year-award consists of the following members:


Prof. dr. Rens Vliegenthart (UvA & chair of the Young Academy)

Rens Vliegenthart is professor at the Department of Communication Science, Amsterdam University. Rens is one of the most productive researchers in his field. Since receiving his PhD, he has studied the role of the media in politics and society. His research straddles the boundary between communication science, political science and sociology. Vliegenthart has convincingly demonstrated that the use of digital technology can increase the analytical capacity of social scientists. In 2012, he published a popular work in Dutch (title: U kletst uit uw nek, i.e. “You’re talking nonsense”) surveying the relationship between Dutch politics, the media and the electorate over the past fifty years.




Rolf van Wegberg (president of PhD Candidate Network of the Netherlands – PNN)

PhD researcher at the Faculty of Technology, Policy and Management of Delft University of Technology, at the Policy, Organisation, Law & Gaming section. His research is embedded in the MALPAY project, focusing on malware targeting financial services worldwide. Therein he particularly studies the criminal strategies used by cybercriminals and the interactions between these strategies and the (security) policies of the financial service providers. Since June he is president of the PhD Candidate Network of the Netherlands